Your officers and staff, at your service

Your local representatives on the NEARI Delegate Assembly elect officers every two years at the annual meeting in May. Any active member is eligible to run for any post, with the exception of the regional vice presidents, each of whom must belong to the membership category or region he/she represents. There are no limits to officer terms.

NEARI Officers 2019-2021

  • President
    Lawrence E. Purtill

  • Vice President
    Valarie Lawson, East Providence Education Association
  • Secretary
    *JoAnn Capaldi, East Greenwich ESP
  • Asst. Secretary
    Sue Warburton. NEA North Kingstown
  • Treasurer
    *Amy Mullen, NEA Tiverton
  • Asst. Treasurer
    Kristin Chase, EP Teacher Asst.
  • NEA Director (three-year term, expiring 2022)
    Vin Levcowich, NEA Chariho 

*Officers voted in mid-term serve until the vote at the May delegate assembly. 

Open Positions

Regional Vice Presidents 

  • Region I (teacher locals in Barrington, Bristol-Warren, East Providence)
    Nick Shattuck, EPEA
    nicholas.shattuck1 @
  • Region II (teacher locals in Jamestown, Little Compton, Middletown, Newport, Newport Special Ed., New Shoreham, Portsmouth, Tiverton)
    Joe Cassady, NEA Portsmouth
    jobucass @
  • Region III (teacher locals in Chariho, Narragansett, South Kingstown, Westerly)

  • Region IV (teacher locals in Burrillville, Cumberland, Davies Career and Technical High School, RI School for the Deaf, Smithfield, North Smithfield)
    Michael Twohey, NEA Smithfield
    neas-twohey @
  • Region V (teacher locals in East Greenwich, Foster, Glocester, Ponaganset, Exeter-West Greenwich, North Kingstown, Scituate)
    Kevin Dubois, NEA North Kingstown
    twistri @
  • Higher Education (all higher education locals with the exception of ESP)
    Marian (Mimi) Fattore, CCRI PSA
    mnfattore @
  • Higher Education ESP (all higher education ESP)
    Debra Coty, URI ESP
    debicoty @
  • K-12 ESP (all K-12 education support professionals and para-professionals)

  • State, Municipal, Retired Personnel (all locals in these categories)
    Raymond Pouliot, Retired
    raymondp70 @ 


The NEARI staff keeps the association running smoothly, and represents your interests at the local and state level.

  • Executive Director
    Robert A. Walsh, Jr.
    RWalsh @
  • Deputy Executive Director
    Jennifer Azevedo, Esq.
    JAzevedo @
  • General Counsel
    John DeCubellis,Jr., Esq.
    JDecubellis @
  • Business Manager
    Gregory Brennick
    GBrennick @
  • Communications Director
    Stephanie Mandeville
    SMandeville @

  • Government Relations Specialist
    Patrick Crowley
    PCrowley @
  • Administrative Assistant
    Cheryl A. Hawes
    CHawes @
  • Children's Fund Coordinator
    Valerie Staples
    VStaples @
  • Membership
    Rhonda Muncey
    RMuncey @

Assistant Executive Directors/UniServ

  • Mary Barden
    mbarden @
  • Crystal Bergantine
    cbergantine @
  • Leslie Florio
    lflorio @
  • Peter Gingras
    PGingras @
  • Sarah Markey
    SMarkey @
  • Amanda Scott
    ascott @


Access Your Member Benefits

Use the number on your membership card as your login for the Access Member Benefits program.

National Education Association Rhode Island (NEARI)

99 Bald Hill Road
Cranston, RI 02920-2631

P: 401-463-9630
F: 401-463-5337

Connect with Us
Stay Informed

Sign up for our national newsletters and get educational news and resources delivered directly to your inbox.

Sign up now